Annual archives: 2021

10/20/2021

Construction Site Errors: Why Bad News Early On Can Be Good Information

Construction Site Errors: Why Bad News Early On Can Be Good Information

If you work in construction long enough, you’re all but guaranteed to run into a problem on-site. However, that doesn’t mean your project is done for. In this piece, Canam’s experts discuss situations in which bad news is good information!

Read more

09/27/2021

Transferring diaphragm forces: What are my options?

Transferring diaphragm forces: What are my options?

Shear connectors, perimeter angles — there are two main ways to transfer diaphragm forces from the steel deck to the collector beams. Learn more about the pitfalls to avoid and factors to consider when choosing a transfer method so you can facilitate your design.

Read more

07/30/2021

Steel Construction Compared to Concrete and Wood: Which is Best?

Steel Construction Compared to Concrete and Wood: Which is Best?

 Steel, wood, and concrete are the “big three” materials when it comes to multilevel construction. Do you know what makes them unique? Our experts break down the benefits and drawbacks of each one to help you save money, work quickly, and build to last.

Read more

07/1/2021

Health and Safety: Reducing Risks on a Construction Site

Health and Safety: Reducing Risks on a Construction Site

When working on the structure of a building, there are many on-site risks to avoid. The more complex a project is, the more people it requires and the greater the risk of potential accidents. Workplace health and safety presents a significant challenge, here are some tips for reducing risks. 

Read more

06/7/2021

Construction and Materials: How to Avoid Unexpected Costs?

Construction and Materials: How to Avoid Unexpected Costs?

The instability of the market, paired with a massive increase in demand for construction presents numerous challenges. How can you ensure availability of materials on your work site while also respecting your budget? How can you avoid prolonged delays in the work? By getting your sub-contractors involved from the start. 

Read more

Archives annuelles: 2021

20/10/2021

Transformez en bonne nouvelle les erreurs sur un chantier de construction

Transformez en bonne nouvelle les erreurs sur un chantier de construction

En travaillant dans le secteur de la construction, rencontrer des problèmes sur un chantier est presque un passage obligé. Dans cet article, nos experts explorent des situations où, en recevant une mauvaise nouvelle assez tôt dans un projet, ils ont pu tourner la situation à leur avantage.

Lire la suite

27/09/2021

Transfert d’efforts de diaphragme : quelles sont vos options?

Transfert d’efforts de diaphragme : quelles sont vos options?

Plots de cisaillement, angles de contour? Transférer les efforts de diaphragme du tablier métallique aux poutres collectrices peut prendre plusieurs formes! Pour faciliter votre conception, apprenez-en plus sur les pièges à éviter et les facteurs qui influencent le choix de la méthode de transfert.

Lire la suite

30/07/2021

Construction en acier, en béton ou en bois : quoi choisir?

Construction en acier, en béton ou en bois : quoi choisir?

En matière de construction multiétagée, l’acier, le bois et le béton s’imposent. Mais savez-vous ce qui les rend si uniques? Nos experts ont pesé le pour et le contre pour chacun d’entre eux afin de vous permettre d’économiser, de travailler rapidement et de construire durablement.

Lire la suite

1/07/2021

Santé et sécurité : réduire les risques au chantier

Santé et sécurité : réduire les risques au chantier

Quand vient le temps d’assembler la structure d’un bâtiment sur un chantier, plusieurs risques doivent être évités. Plus un projet est complexe, plus le nombre d’intervenants et le niveau de risque augmentent. La santé et sécurité au travail étant des enjeux de taille, voici quelques conseils pour la réduction du risque.

Lire la suite

3/06/2021

Coûts de construction et matériaux : comment éviter les imprévus?

Coûts de construction et matériaux : comment éviter les imprévus?

L’instabilité du marché, doublée du feu roulant des besoins en construction, présente son lot de défis. Comment assurer la disponibilité des matériaux sur le chantier tout en respectant votre budget? Comment éviter les délais qui s’allongent? En impliquant vos sous-traitants dès le départ.

Lire la suite