Annual archives: 2019

12/19/2019

Future Leaders Program: Building the Future of the Construction Industry

Future Leaders Program: Building the Future of the Construction Industry

With the future of the construction industry at heart, Canam initiated the Future Leaders program, which aims at better understanding the challenges of those under 35 years of age in this field. This highly curated think tank program, held in Boston, Massachusetts last December, brought together fourteen participants from different areas of the industry. Engineers, architects, general contractors, steel fitters and other professionals pondered upon ways to actively contribute to future improvements by exchanging ideas, exploring new…

Read more

11/18/2019

Canam Group Wins Five CISC Awards of Excellence

Canam Group Wins Five CISC Awards of Excellence

Canam Buildings and Canam Bridges proudly received five awards at the 21st Gala of the Canadian Institute of Steel Construction (CISC) Awards of Excellence for the Quebec region held on November 11 in Montreal.   Canam Buildings Category: Buildings – Residential Urbano The Urbano project located in Sherbrooke, Quebec is a 12-storey residential complex that includes 91 high-end condo units, a fitness room, an indoor pool, a spa, and many other amenities.…

Read more

11/5/2019

Case study: Delta Hotels Thunder Bay project

Case study: Delta Hotels Thunder Bay project

During the design phase of the Delta Hotels in Thunder Bay, Ontario, the owner identified some problems that could not be solved by conventional construction methods without incurring additional costs. With a limited budget and a tight schedule, he reached out to Canam to handle the following problems: Lack of space for the HVAC systems, electrical conduits and plumbing Fire resistance for a building with a constant flow of customers Soundproofing for bedrooms and other areas. Space for systems

Read more

10/15/2019

An essential tool on a construction site

An essential tool on a construction site

PlanGrid is a construction productivity software that allows an entire team to access project plans.  This tool is very useful on a construction site where the users can add photos taken on site and link them to a specific location on the plan, record observations and request information, identify anomalies on site and document them simply by using their device.  This technology facilitates the collection of information in synchronization with the entire team.…

Read more

10/10/2019

Murox products featured in a e-magazine

Murox products featured in a e-magazine

Canam distinguished itself with its Murox products in an article published on September 27, 2019 in the e-magazine Daily Commercial News. It talks about the La knowlton Co. microbrewery project located in Knowlton, Quebec, a modern building with an industrial style that uses steel and glass in an innovative way. The acoustic deck used on this project comes from the Reveal Series. This project is nominated for a 2019 CISC…

Read more

Archives annuelles: 2019

19/12/2019

Future Leaders : un programme pour bâtir l’avenir de l’industrie de la construction

Future Leaders : un programme pour bâtir l’avenir de l’industrie de la construction

Ayant à cœur l’avenir de l’industrie de la construction, Canam a mis en place le programme Future Leaders, qui vise  à mieux comprendre les défis des moins de 35 ans évoluant dans ce domaine. Ce programme de « réflexion de haut niveau », qui s’est tenu à Boston au Massachusetts en décembre dernier, a regroupé quatorze participants émanant de différentes sphères de l’industrie. Ingénieurs, architectes, entrepreneurs généraux, monteurs d’acier et autres professionnels se sont penchés sur les…

Lire la suite

18/11/2019

Groupe Canam remporte cinq Prix d’excellence de l’ICCA

Groupe Canam remporte cinq Prix d’excellence de l’ICCA

Canam Bâtiments et Canam Ponts ont reçu avec fierté cinq prix lors du 21e Gala de la remise des Prix d’excellence de l’Institut Canadien de la construction en acier (ICCA) pour la région de Québec qui a eu lieu le 11 novembre dernier à Montréal.   Canam Bâtiments Catégorie : Bâtiments résidentiels Urbano Le projet Urbano situé à Sherbrooke au Québec est un complexe d’habitation de 12 étages qui inclut 91 unités…

Lire la suite

5/11/2019

Étude de cas : le projet de l’hôtel Delta Thunder Bay

Étude de cas : le projet de l’hôtel Delta Thunder Bay

Dès la conception de l’hôtel Delta situé à Thunder Bay en Ontario, le propriétaire a constaté certains problèmes qui ne pouvaient trouver de solutions dans les méthodes de construction usuelles, sans occasionner des coûts supplémentaires. Ayant un budget à respecter et un échéancier serré, il a fait appel à Canam pour trouver des solutions aux problèmes suivants : le manque d’espace pour ses systèmes CVAC, conduits électriques et plomberie la résistance au feu pour un bâtiment où…

Lire la suite

15/10/2019

Un outil indispensable sur un chantier

Un outil indispensable sur un chantier

PlanGrid est un logiciel de productivité pour la construction qui permet à toute une équipe d’accéder aux plans du projet.  Cet outil est fort utile sur un chantier où les utilisateurs peuvent ajouter des photos prises sur les lieux et les relier à un endroit précis sur le plan, inscrire des observations et demander des renseignements, repérer des anomalies sur place et les documenter en utilisant simplement leur appareil.  Cette technologie facilite la collecte d’informations, et ce,…

Lire la suite

10/10/2019

Les produits Murox en vedette dans un cybermagazine

Les produits Murox en vedette dans un cybermagazine

Canam s’est démarquée avec ses produits Murox dans un article paru le 27 septembre 2019 dans le cybermagazine Daily Commercial News. On y parle du projet de la microbrasserie La knowlton Co. située à Knowlton au Québec, un bâtiment moderne au style industriel qui utilise de façon innovatrice, l’acier et le verre. Le tablier acoustique utilisé sur ce projet provient de la Série Reveal. Ce projet est en nomination au…

Lire la suite